CTSA Cores

The Duke CTSI is supported in part by the Duke Clinical and Translational Science Award, NIH Award UL1TR002553.  The CTSA initiative is led by the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) at the National Institutes of Health. The CTSA designates several core capabilities for grant-holding institutions to address. Programs and teams who support these capabilities at Duke, and key contacts for each, are included below.

Administration

L Ebony Boulware, MD, MPH | Department of General Internal Medicine
Contact Principal Investigator, Duke CTSA
Director, Duke CTSI

Jennifer Li, MD | Department of Pediatrics
Co-Principal Investigator, Duke CTSA

Jim McNamara, MD | Department of Neurobiology
Co-Principal Investigator, Duke CTSA

Warren Kibbe, PhDwarren.kibbe@duke.edu
Director, Bioinformatics Core

Michael Pencina, PhD | michael.pencina@duke.edu
Vice Dean, Data Science & Information Technology

Nadine J. Barrett, PhD, MA, MS | nadine.barrett@duke.edu
Assistant Professor, Department of Community and Family Medicine, Duke School of Medicine

Becky Moen | rebbecca.moen@duke.edu | Duke CTSI
Chief Operations Officer

Joe McClernon | francis.mcclernon@duke.edu | Duke CTSI
Evaluation & Strategic Planning

Doug Chartrand | douglas.chartrand@duke.edu | Duke CTSI
Evaluation

Karen Johnson | kareno.johnson@duke.edu | Duke CTSI
CTSA Program Director

Julie McKeel | julie.mckeel@duke.edu | Duke CTSI
Director of Communications

Jenni Clark | jenni.clark@duke.edu | Duke CTSI
Grants and Contracts Manager

Judy Hall | judy.hall@duke.edu
Senior Program Coordinator

Deborah Jackson | deborah.jackson@duke.edu | Duke CTSI
Program Coordinator

Biostatistics, Epidemiology, and Research Design Core

David Page, PhD | david.page@duke.edu | Director, Biostatistics, Epidemiology, and Research Design Core; Professor and Chair, Biostatistics & Bioinformatics
Lesley Curtis, PhD | lesley.curtis@duke.edu | Director, Biostatistics, Epidemiology, and Research Design Core; Professor and Chair, Population Health Sciences, Professor in Medicine
Gina-Maria Pomann | gina-maria.pomann@duke.edu | Biostatistics & Bioinformatics

Community Engaged Research Initiative (CERI) Core

Rosa Gonzalez-Guarda | rosa.gonzalez-guarda@duke.edu | Director, Community Engaged Research Initiative (CERI) Core; School of Nursing
Jennifer Gierischj.gierisch@duke.edu  | Director, Community Engaged Research Initiative (CERI) Core; School of Nursing
Leonor Adalgisa Corsino | corsi002@mc.duke.edu | Director, Community Engaged Research Initiative (CERI) Core; School of Medicine

Community of Scholars Core

Friederike Jayes, PhD, DVM | friederike.jayes@duke.edu | Director, Community of Scholars Core; OBGYN
Clarissa Diamantidis, MD | clarissa.diamantidis@duke.edu | Departments of General Internal Medicine and Nephrology

CTSI Accelerator Core

Barry Myersbarry.myers@duke.edu | Director, CTSI Accelerator Core; Biomedical Engineering

Data Science Core

Michael Pencina | michal.pencina@duke.edu | Director, Data Science Core; Duke Biostatistics & Bioinformatics; Vice Dean for Data Science and Information Technology
Erich Huang | erich.huang@duke.edu | Director, Data Science Core; Biostatistics & Bioinformatics, Duke Forge, Assistant Dean for Biomedical Engineering
Lawrence Carin | lcarin@ee.duke.edu | Director, Data Science Core; Pratt School of Engineering, Vice Provost for Research
Shelley Rusincovitch | shelley.rusincovitch@duke.edu | Duke Forge
Anthony Leiro | anthony.leiro@duke.edu | Duke CTSI

Equity in Research (EIR) Core

Keisha Bentley-Edwards, PhD | keisha.bentley.edwards@duke.edu | Director, Equity in Research (EIR) Core; Department of Medicine, Duke Cancer Institute, Duke Global Health Institute
Dane Whicker, PhD | dane.whicker@duke.edu | Director, Equity in Research (EIR) Core; Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Sabrena Mervin-Blake | sabrena.mervin-blake@duke.edu | Duke CTSI 

Informatics Core

Warren Alden Kibbe | warren.kibbe@duke.edu | Director, Informatics Core; Department of Biostatistics & Bioinformatics 
William Ed Hammond | william.hammond@duke.edu | Director, Informatics Core; Duke Center for Health Informatics
Vivian West | vivian.west@duke.edu | Duke CTSI, Duke Center for Health Informatics
Anthony Leiro | anthony.leiro@duke.edu | Duke CTSI

KL2 Core

Laura Svetkey | laura.svetkey@duke.edu | Director, KL2 Core; Department of Medicine
Kimberly Johnson | kimberly.s.johnson@duke.edu | Director, KL2 Core; Department of Medicine, Geriatrics
Rasheed Gbadegesin | rasheed.gbadegesin@duke.edu | Director, KL2 Core; Department of Medicine, Pediatrics
Stephanie Molner | stephanie.molner@duke.edu | Duke CTSI
 

NCCU Pilots

Janet Bettger | janet.bettger@duke.edu | Orthopaedics
Lisa Davis | lisa.p.davis@duke.edu | Duke CTSI

​Participant & Clinical Interactions (PCI) Core

Adrian Hernandez | adrian.hernandez@duke.edu | Director, Participant & Clinical Interactions (PCI) Core; Vice Dean for Research, Department of Medicine
Jeffrey Guptill | jeffrey.guptill@duke.edu | Director, Participant & Clinical Interactions (PCI) Core; Duke Early Phase Research Unit (DEPRU), Department of Neurology, DCRI
Stephanie Freel | stephanie.freel@duke.edu | Duke Office of Clinical Research
Denise Snyder | denise.snyder@duke.edu | Duke Office of Clinical Research
Donna Hammel | donna.hammel@duke.edu | DEPRU

Recruitment Innovation Center (RIC)

Ranee Chatterjee Montgomery | ranee.chatterjee@duke.edu | Director, Recruitment Innovation Center (RIC); General Internal Medicine
Schuyler Jones | schuyler.jones@duke.edu | Director, Recruitment Innovation Center (RIC); Department of Medicine, Cardiology

Regulatory Affairs Core

Bruce Burnett | bruce.burnett@duke.edu | Director, Regulatory Affairs Core; Department of Medicine
Amanda B Parrish | amanda.b.parrish@duke.edu | Office of Regulatory Affairs and Quality (ORAQ)

Special Populations Core

Keisha Bentley-Edwards | keisha.bentley.edwards@duke.edu | Director, Special Populations Core; Department of Medicine, Duke Cancer Institute, Duke Global Health Institute
Devon Noonan | devon.noonan@duke.edu | Director, Special Populations Core; School of Nursing
Dwight Koeberl | dwight.koeberl@duke.edu | Director, Special Populations Core; Department of Medicine, Pediatrics, Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
K.K. Lam | kk.lam@duke.edu | Duke CTSI
Carter Crew | carter.crew@duke.edu | Duke CTSI
Sydney Sullivan | sydney.sullivan@duke.edu | Duke CTSI

Team Science Core

Jonathon Cummings | jonathon.cummings@duke.edu | Director, Team Science Core; Fuqua School of Business
Kristine Glauber | kristine.glauber@duke.edu | Duke CTSI, Duke Office of Research Initiatives

TL1 Core

David Edelman | edelm001@duke.edu | Director, TL1 Core; General Internal Medicine
Kevin Thomas | kevin.thomas@duke.edu | Director, TL1 Core; Department of Medicine
Genevieve G. Fouda Amouou | genevieve.fouda@duke.edu | Director, TL1 Core; Department of Medicine, Pediatrics

Trial Innovation Center (TIC)

Geeta Swamy | geeta.swamy@duke.edu | Director, Trial Innovation Center (TIC); Vice Dean and Associate Vice Provost for Scientific Integrity
Lindsey Spangler | lindsey.spangler@duke.edu | Duke Office of Clinical Research

Workforce Development Core

Steven Grambow | steven.grambow@duke.edu | Director, Workforce Development Core; Biostatistics & Bioinformatics
Katie Dickerson | kathryn.dickerson@duke.edu | Director, Workforce Development Core; Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences